Skip to content
  • News

    ‘Vital city 2025’ winner revealed

    We’re delighted to announce that the winner of the Future Spaces Foundation’s (FSF) student design competition is Team Sarajevo from the University of Bath. Congratulations to team members Charlotte Backshall, Zoe Day, Sofie Grieg, Fraser Wallis and Herong Zhou on their innovative conceptualisation of Sarajevo as a Vital City of 2025.

    The result was announced at an exhibition of the entries at Make Architects’ London studio. The competition tasked students with designing a ‘Component of Place for a Vital City of 2025’, drawing on the values of the Foundation and its 2016 international research study on transport and connectivity.

    Founder of Make and the Future Spaces Foundation, Ken Shuttleworth, who announced the winner said:

    “This entry impressed with the way it clearly identified a real problem in Sarajevo: the poor air quality, and sought to tackle it in innovative ways, using many of the principles set out in the FSF research. The introduction of a green corridor and the focus on pedestrians and public transport was great to see, as well as the organic densification to combat the illegal sprawl around the city. A very impressive entry, congratulations.”

    The two runners-up were also announced: Team Larnaka from the University of Bath (Frederica Bond, Tom Boshell, Marialena Byrou, Emma Hugh and Hannah Richmond) and Team Ljubljana from the University of Portsmouth (Astha Basnet, Adam Bennet, James Lee, Lawrence Martin, Lija Puncule, Craig Snelling, John Swain, Lee Wakeling, Laura Whitney). The winning team took home £1,000 in prize money, and two runners-up were awarded £250.